Carlotta Nwajide in Ruderboot

Carlotta Nwajide

Date of birth: 12.07.1995
Career start: 2014
My breakfast routine: Everything that hast to do with oats, plant based milk and fruits 
Favorite bowl: Sweet Cylon Bowl
Favorite topping: almond butter

Who are you and what are you doint?

I'm Carlotta Nwajide, vice world champion in Rowing, European champion, and an Olympian. In addition to competitive sports, I study geography and campaign against racism and for climate justice.

Carlotta Nwajida with rowboat © Johannes Arlt

What does your typical daily routine look like

During my daily training routine, I usually get up at just before 7, because the first training session starts at 7:30. I usually stay in bed until the last minute, so my morning is rather stressful. We train 2 or 3 times a day. Two sessions in the morning and one in the afternoon, every third day only two sessions in the morning.

In between or afterwards I usually try to do something for university or for activism. Depending on how we have trained, that works either more or less.

If there's still time in the evening, I like to see friends, read, or even be out and about. Most of the time, however, I have to go to bed early because I have to complete training the next day.

What has been the best moment in your career so far

The best moment for me was when we took the team bus to the Olympic village. Everything I had always dreamed of as an athlete and for which I gave everything every day in training finally came true.

What is important to you in your diet

I try to eat healthy most of the time, with lots of fruits and vegetables and enough proteins and carbohydrates so that I always have enough energy. In addition, unless it doesn't work otherwise, I eat vegan, so plant-based nutrition is very important for me.

How do you spend your free time?

I like reading, being around people and being outdoors. Otherwise, I deal a lot with racism and the climate crisis.

How did Corona change your daily routine as a competitive athlete?

The most glaring impact of Corona was that the Olympic Games were postponed. First and foremost, that brought a lot of uncertainty into my everyday life. All the plans I had for afterwards had to be changed somehow, my studies were delayed by another year and I had to qualify for the Olympics again, even though I had already been nominated the previous year. That was one of the hardest things for me. Apart from that, I think we all did an incredible number of Corona tests, there were no spectators at competitions and I saw even fewer people, even in phases of numbers dropping, because there was always the risk of catching Corona and dropping out as a result. 

"You can recognise me from a distance by...?"

I'm usually wearing black clothes and holding a coffee in my hand.

Carlotta Nwajide sitting in front of cars© Werner Amann

"If I weren't an athlete, would I be ...?

Very difficult question, which I am currently trying to answer for myself. I would probably have much more time for activism, friends, family and my studies. I have always planned my life around and until the Olympics. Now that I have reached my goal, I have new things to do.

© header image: Maja Hitij